CATA Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame award recognizes the very best in our profession. This award for lifetime achievement honors dedicated members that have contributed to athletic training by their leadership, service, scholarship, promotion of the profession and professionalism at the local, state, district and national level.  A Hall of Fame candidate exemplifies the mission statement of the CATA and the NATA Code of Ethics; by their conduct and advancement of the profession.

Criteria for nomination:

  • Minimum 20 years service as an athletic trainer or related profession (i.e. team physician)
  • Minimum 15 years member CATA or service in Connecticut if not an athletic trainer.
  • Significant serivce to the athletic training profession especially in the State of Connecticut (i.e. Contributions to the CATA, EATA, and/or NATA; Service to the community - professional and/or civilian; Education - presentations, publications, etc.)
  • NATA Hall of Fame will result in automatic induction into the CATA Hall of Fame


Nomination Process:

  • Nomination must come from current CATA member
  • Completed nomination form
  • Three letters from CATA members which support nomination from CATA member, physicians, or administrators


Link for nomination form:

Award Winners

2017     Ernest Hallbach
2017     Robert Howard
2017     Roger Guyas (posthumously)
2016     Vicky Graham
2015     Gary Morin
2014     Donald Bagnall
2014     Steve Cannata
2014     Dr. David Yeo
2013     John Gilmour
2013     Thomas McCarthy
2013     Mary Cardarelli
2013     Steve Witkowski (posthumously)
2013     Walter Grockowski (posthumously)
2013     Richard A. Wargo (posthumously)
2012     Margaret "Peggy" Hogan
2012     Robert Mastrianni
2012     Oliver W. "Bill" Dayton (posthumously)
2012     Michael Murphy (posthumously)
2012     Frank Wandle (posthumously)
2011     Rick Burr
2011     Kathy Pirog
2011     Maryann Laska
2011     Cathy Horne
2010     Carl Krein




Copyright © Connecticut Athletic Trainers' Association.
All Rights Reserved.

Site designed and maintained by Sharri H. Jackson

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software